Never be afraid to stand with the minority when the minority is right, for the minority which is right will one day be the majority. - William Jennings Bryan

Wednesday, January 12, 2005

Continuing SWAC Post..

To continue my Academic Team Facts and Figures...
The following are the only African Americans to serve in the Senate:
Hiram R. Revels (R-MS) 1870-1871
Blanche K. Bruce (R-MS) 1875-1881
Edward W. Brooke, III (R-MA) 1967-1979 -- (first elected; previous two appointed by State Legislature)
Carol Mosley Braun (D-IL) 1993-1999
Barack H. Obama (D-IL) 2005-
Only Asian Americans:
Hiram L. Fong (R-HI) 1959-1977
Daniel K. Inouye (D-HI) 1963-
Samuel I. Hayakawa (R-CA) 1977-1983
Spark M. Matsunaga (D-HI) 1977-1990
Daniel K. Akaka (D-HI) 1990-

Only Hispanic Americans:
Octaviano Larrazolo (R-NM) 1928-1929
Dennis Chavez (D-NM) 1935-1962
Joseph M. Montoya (D-NM) 1964-77
Ken L. Salazar (D-CO) 2005-
Melquiades R. Martinez (R-FL) 2005-

Only Native Americans:
Charles Curtis (R-KS) 1907-13; 1915-29 (Kaw)
Robert Owen (D-OK) 1907-1925 (Cherokee)
Ben Nighthorse Campbell (R-CO) 1993-2005 (Northern Cheyenne)

Recent Governors of Virginia:
Mark R. Warner (D) 2002-
James S. Gilmore, III (R) 1998-2002
George F. Allen (R) 1994-1998
L. Douglas Wilder (D) 1990-1994 (first popularly elected African American Governor in U.S. history)
Gerald L. Baliles (D) 1986-1990
Charles S. Robb (D) 1982-1986
John N. Dalton (R) 1978-1982
Mills E. Godwin (R) 1974-1978 (only Governor to serve two terms; see below)
A. Linwood Holton (R) 1970-1974 (first 20th Century Republican Governor of VA)
elected under the "Byrd Machine":
Mills E. Godwin (D) 1966-1970
Albertis S. Harrison (D) 1962-1966
J. Lindsay Almond (D) 1958-1962
Thomas B. Stanley (D) 1954-1958
John S. Battle (D) 1950-1954
William M. Tuck (D) 1946-1950
Colgate W. Darden (D) 1942-1946
James H. Price (D) 1938-1942
George C. Peery (D) 1934-1938
John G. Pollard (D) 1930-1934
more Governors to come...

Byrd Machine - Harry F. Byrd, Sr. first came to prominince in 1922 fighting for "Pay As You Go," a principle saying we shouldn't spend money we don't have. In 1925, Byrd was elected Virginia Governor, one of the youngest in state history (38 at the time). He served from 1926 to 1930, and was elected to the U.S. Senate in 1932. From his retirement as Governor until his death in 1966, Senator Byrd controled every aspect of Virginia politics, from statewide down to every county courthouse. The Byrd Machine stood for:
1) Fiscal Responsibility ("Pay As You Go")
2) Segregation (Massive Resistance)
3) "Golden Silence" (the term coined by Senator Byrd for supporting national Democratic candidates such as Stevenson and Kennedy, but not publicly endorsing them.)
As Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee, Virginia received more money per capita that any state in the nation. No person in modern day politics could completely control a state like Harry Flood Byrd did.

America has 50 states..sort of...
46 States, 4 Commonwealths
Our 4 Commonwealths are:

--There are currently 55 Republicans, 44 Democrats, and 1 Democrat-leaning Independent in the U.S. Senate

The Democratic Tickets:
2004: (LOSS)
John Kerry (MA)
John Edwards (NC)
2000: (LOSS??)
Al Gore (TN)
Joe Lieberman (CT)
1996: (WIN)
Bill Clinton (AR)
Al Gore (TN)
1992: (WIN)
Bill Clinton (AR)
Al Gore (TN)
1988: (LOSS)
Michael Dukakis (MA)
Lloyd Bentsen (TX)
1984: (LOSS)
Walter Mondale (MN)
Geraldine Ferraro (NY) -- (First {and, thus far, only} female on a national ticket)
1980: (LOSS)
Jimmy Carter (GA)
Walter Mondale (MN)
1976: (WIN)
Jimmy Carter (GA)
Walter Mondale (MN)

The Republican Tickets:
2004: (WIN)
George W. Bush (TX)
Dick Cheney (WY)
2000: (WIN??)
George W. Bush (TX)
Dick Cheney (WY)
1996: (LOSS)
Bob Dole (KS)
Jack Kemp (NY)
1992: (LOSS)
George H.W. Bush (TX)
Dan Quayle (IN)
1988: (WIN)
George H.W. Bush (TX)
Dan Quayle (IN)
1984: (WIN)
Ronald Reagan (CA)
George H.W. Bush (TX)
1980: (WIN)
Ronald Reagan (CA)
George H.W. Bush (TX)
1976: (LOSS)
Gerald Ford (MI)
Bob Dole (KS)

More to come...stay tuned...

No comments: